The Vegan Weight Watcher

15 Aug

I’m vegan, I recently joined Weight Watchers, and I’m going to write a blog about it.

Okay, I’ll tell you more than that.  To be perfectly honest, I used to have a snobbish opinion of Weight Watchers in general.  I thought it was for weak-willed people who needed some weird points system and packaged food to lose weight.  Having lost a large amount of weight on my own in the past (which I’ll talk about in my next post), I thought I was above it.  So when a friend mentioned that his wife had just joined, I thought “Oh, that’s nice, I hope it works for her”.  Then he mentioned that I would probably like the plan because fruits and vegetables are “free”.  I (jokingly) said “Shoot, I should give it a try”, and he (jokingly) said “Yeah, you should”.

My curiosity piqued, I came home, did some research and I liked what I found.  The points system wasn’t so weird after all; it’s based on fat, carbohydrate, fiber and protein content, and I liked the idea that I wouldn’t be focusing solely on calories.  You get a daily points allowance plus a weekly allowance to spread out how you like, and you can also earn more points by exercising.  And as I mentioned, fruits and vegetables are free, so it seemed that the way I was already eating would be a good fit.

I found a lot of information on Weight Watchers readily available online, but I had a harder time confirming that a vegan could follow the plan and be successful.  Through this blog I hope to provide information on how a vegan diet can function within the Weight Watchers plan, and at the same time have an outlet to talk about my food, exercise, successes, woes, and anything else I deem applicable.

I’m planning to write a short-ish post every day, or almost every day, and I’ll post my daily menus for two reasons – to show you what a vegan can eat on Weight Watchers, and to keep myself accountable.

Monday 8/15/11

breakfast – double fiber English muffin with 1 Tbs peanut butter and 2 tsp strawberry preserves
AM snack – banana, coffee with soy milk
lunch – salad (romaine, arugula, tamari-roasted chickpeas, 2 tsp bacon-flavored chips, 2 Tbs goddess dressing, black pepper), plum
PM snack – lemon soy yogurt
dinner – Sang Choy Bow (Chinese mushroom lettuce wraps), stir-fried green beans & broccoli made with 3/4 tsp coconut oil, 3/4 tsp hoisin and 1 Tbs chopped walnuts, 1 cup edamame in the pods

Daily points used:  29

Sang Choy Bow, from The Great American Detox Diet

Success of the day:  I sat by a tray of bagels for hours at a work event and didn’t even nibble.

2 Responses to “The Vegan Weight Watcher”

  1. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan September 1, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    This is a great idea for a blog, Erin! I’m subscribing :)

    So great to meet you this past weekend!

Leave a Comment

