Tuesday Totals, and My History with Weight Loss

17 Aug

I said yesterday that I would tell you more about myself and my history with weight loss today, so here goes.  I’ve been at least a little overweight for most of my life.  Throughout middle school, high school and college I just gradually put on weight, and I was always busy with so many things that I didn’t really pay attention to it.  I peaked at 200 pounds.  Of course, I hated being overweight and it had a negative affect on many areas of my life, but I wasn’t ready to do anything about it until I graduated college in 2003.  All of the sudden I really had nowhere to be and nothing to do, and I got to focus on myself.  I was vegetarian at the time, and I started counting calories.  I also started using Leslie Sansone’s Walk Away the Pounds videos at home, graduating from one to two, and eventually to the three mile video.  After I had lost some weight and gained some confidence, I joined a gym.  I started lifting weights and using the elliptical, and worked up to two hours at the gym five times a week.  After about a year and three months, I had lost 75 pounds and hit my goal weight of 125.

Over the next five or six years, I very gradually gained back 50 pounds.  It’s so embarrassing to write that!  But, it’s true, and I have to be honest here or there’s no point.  I started dating my long-term boyfriend (we all know how that goes), and honestly, I got lazy.  Also, I like beer and burritos a little too much.  I’ve been “trying” to lose weight by calorie counting and occasional exercise for a while now, losing and gaining the same five pounds over and over.

Looking back on my first round of weight loss, I think 125 was a little too skinny for me.  I’m 5’5″ and don’t have a small frame, and while I LOVED buying size 2 and 4 clothes, I don’t think I should go quite as small this time.  Last time, my motives were purely indulgent; I wanted to be skinny and feel better about myself.  This time, I want to get fit and healthy.  I’m not getting any younger here.  Being thinner and feeling better about myself will be nice side effects, too.

I haven’t set my goal weight for this time around yet, but I think it will be somewhere around 135 or 140.  Weight Watchers has you set mini goals along the way, and right now my goal is 164.7, or 5% lost.  In the first two and a half weeks on plan, I lost five pounds exactly!  Wednesdays are my weigh in days, so we’ll see where I’m at tomorrow.  I haven’t done super great this week, so I’ll be happy if I maintain and pleasantly surprised if I lose.

A little about myself:  I was born and raised in Florida, and lived there until August 2008 when I moved to California with my boyfriend and my cat.  I have a bachelor’s degree in music performance and earned a Natural Chef Certificate from Bauman College last year.  I live in San Leandro (near Oakland) and work at UC Berkeley.  I currently have an office job but want to earn a living from cooking sooner than later.  When I’m not working, cooking or exercising I play in a band, go to Oakland A’s games, blog, play fantasy football, watch too much TV, and pet my cat.  I love to travel and don’t get to as much as I’d like.  I like games, bright colors, thunder storms and shiraz.  I dislike sharks and life-sized dinosaur skeletons.

Tuesday, 8/16/11

breakfast – smoothie (banana, blueberries, 2 Tbs rolled oats, hemp protein powder, Amazing Grass Chocolate Superfood, almond milk
AM snack – peach, 6 almonds, coffee with hazelnut soy creamer
lunch – Sang Choy Bow (Chinese mushroom lettuce wraps), stir-fried green beans & broccoli made with 3/4 tsp coconut oil, 3/4 tsp hoisin and 1 Tbs chopped walnuts, 1 cup edamame in the pods
PM snack – 3/4 cup plain soy yogurt with strawberries
dinner – Togo’s hummus sandwich on white bread with mustard and veggies

Exercise – Couch to 5K Week 5 Day 1 (15 minutes running, 16 minutes walking)

Daily points used:  29
Activity points earned:  4

Totals for 8/10-8/16

Daily points used:  203/203
Weekly points used:  49/49
Activity points earned:  14
Activity points used:  12
Points left on the table:  2

I’ll talk more about the points and how they work next time.

Leave a Comment

