A Weekend of Choices

5 Sep

Dave and I are hosting a group of friends for the first NFL football Sunday next weekend, and while discussing what food to make I blurted out “nacho bar!”.  I don’t know where that idea came from, but it’s a good one, no?  A few guests are also following Weight Watchers, and Dave was concerned that a nacho bar might not be the best idea for those of us watching what we eat.  I told him that Weight Watchers isn’t about eating differently than everyone else, or eating “healthy” all the time, but rather it’s about making good choices.  Instead of piling up a giant plate of nachos, you could have a smaller portion or make a taco salad instead, using chips as a garnish instead of a base.  Dave has already purchased a giant can of nacho cheese, so it looks like the nacho bar is on!

Weekends are usually full of food choices for me.  We tend to tailgate, hang out with friends or do other activities on weekends, and I also keep most of my alcoholic beverage consumption to the weekend.  (If you’ve been looking at my food logs, you may have noticed that I am fond of beer and wine…)  On Friday we went straight from work to the A’s game and I didn’t have enough food at home to pack dinner, so we had to buy something on the way.  We chose burritos from La Burrita, which is actually one of the better choices around where we work, considering the options.  I try to buy burritos from places that don’t serve free chips so that they’re not a temptation.  Since I was sharing with Dave I went ahead and took the chips but limited myself to ten.  Ten chips are three points while twelve chips are four, so I stopped at ten.  See?  It’s all about the choices.

Saturday we went to an event with lots of food trucks, which is kind of the epitome of choices.  Somewhat fortunately in this situation, my options as a vegan were limited to about four dishes.  I knew I wanted to try Liba falafel truck, which offers a large falafel sandwich, small falafel sandwich, or falafel salad.  My first instinct was to go for the salad.  The salad, however, came with three falafels while the small sandwich came with two on a half pita.  I chose the small sandwich because I thought a bit of bread would be better than the extra falafel and fill me up more, and it was five dollars cheaper.

I promise there are falafels under there.

The falafels come with tahini sauce and a cilantro sauce.  It also includes toppings from their topping bar, with roasted eggplant and tomato, red cabbage with black sesame seeds, pickled onions and peanuts.  I got everything except the peanuts.

I was still a little hungry after the falafel sandwich, so I chose a summer squash taco from The Taco Guys.

The taco included zucchini, roasted red pepper, leeks, fennel and arugula, and I topped it with salsa verde.  I drained off as much oil as possible before eating, and this was one tasty taco.

So, I feel like I made some good choices this weekend, but let’s be realistic – it’s hard to always make the best choices!  I did eat french fries twice this weekend, but I also made sure they fit within my points allowance.

Friday, 9/2

breakfast – smoothie (banana, strawberries, 2 Tbs rolled oats, 1 Tbs chia seed powder and almond milk
snack – half a cantaloupe
lunch – 8 oz shirataki fettuccine with blushing alfredo sauce, wilted spinach, roasted cauliflower and baked tempeh
snack – 1 cup edamame in pods, 4 cherry tomatoes
dinner – burrito (rice, beans, lettuce, salsa, guacamole), 10 tortilla chips with salsa
after dinner – 52 oz light beer, french fries

daily points used:  29
weekly points used:  35

Saturday, 9/3

breakfast – 2/3 cup multibran cereal with almond milk and sliced banana, medium soy latte
lunch – falafel in pita with roasted eggplant and tomato, red cabbage with black sesame seeds and pickled onion; summer squash taco with roasted red pepper, leeks, arugula, fennel and salsa verde; diet pepsi with 2 oz rum
snack – ratatouille with chickpeas
dinner – 1 cup linguine with mushroom marinara, 16 oz red wine

daily points used:  29
weekly points used:  7
activity points used:  11

Sunday, 9/4

slept through breakfast and skipped to lunch at a diner.
lunch – triple decker ALT (avocado, lettuce, tomato) with sprouts and mustard on white toast, french fries with ketchup, coffee with unsweetened coconut milk
snack – two plums
dinner – ratatouille with chickpeas, mini neapolitan soy ice cream sandwich, 24 oz MGD 64

daily points used:  29
activity points used:  3

Monday, 9/5

breakfast – smoothie (banana, strawberries, hemp protein powder, almond milk, cinnamon)
lunch – Togo’s hummus sandwich on white bread with veggies and mustard, coffee with unsweetened coconut milk
dinner – whole wheat spaghetti with mushroom marinara, sauteed zucchini with tofu ricotta, nectarine, 12 oz MGD 64, 7 oz wine

Exercise – Couch to 5K Week 7 Day 1 (25 minutes running, 10 minutes walking)

daily points used:  29
activity points earned:  6
activity points used:  4

Onto the work week, when good food choices tend to be a little more routine for me.  Although, we have lots of different things going on this week (including the aforementioned nacho bar), so we’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Comment

