Couch To 5K Success

29 Sep

I finally finished the Couch To 5K plan!  I’m very, very proud of myself.  I took it extra slow today for fear of re-injuring my calf, and I did have some discomfort in the area, but I finished.  I’m registered for the Oktoberun 5K in two weeks, so the plan is to keep running every other day and try to get my distance up to three miles.

I used the C25K app to work through the plan, and I would highly recommend it for anyone who is interested.  I liked the app a lot at first, and loved it after the last update which fixed a few issues.  The app uses voice prompts to let you know when to run and when to walk, played over music selected from your phone.  It tracks your movement by GPS, calculating pace and distance and estimating calories burned.  There is a journal function to keep notes on each session, which I really liked using.  During each run I would envision the positive things I could write in the journal, which actually helped me through.  They have excellent customer service too; I e-mailed once about a GPS issue, and they responded the same day.

I really enjoyed using the C25K app, and plan to use the Bridge to 10K app to continue to improve as a runner.

On a side note, VeganMoFo is upon us!  I am going to participate with both this blog and my other blog Vegan Homemade.  Insanity.  My theme for this blog will be nutrition facts, tips and recipes for foods to include in a healthy vegan diet.  If you don’t know what VeganMoFo is, head over to the MoFo website and check it out.

Thursday, 9/29/11

breakfast – smoothie (2 Tbs rolled oats, spinach, strawberries, banana, 2 Tbs chia powder, coconut drink)
AM snack – apple, pear, coffee with soy creamer
lunch – salad (spinach, cucumber, 2 tsp bacon flavored chips, 2 Tbs fat free balsamic vinaigrette), Matar Tofu Paneer Dahl
PM snack – 1/4 cup wasabi wow snack mix
dinner – half a Juicy Lucy patty (cheese-stuffed tofu burger) on a wheat hamburger bun with baked sweet potato fries, avocado, ketchup & spicy mustard, roasted green beans, 4 oz red wine

daily points used:  29
weekly points used:  3
activity points earned:  7

4 Responses to “Couch To 5K Success”

  1. htblackmon September 30, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    Congratulations on finishing C25K! I used that same program when I started running back in 2002 and I agree it’s fantastic! What’s next? I didn’t use the Bridge to 10K (not sure if that was around), but I took much the same route by training for a 10K next. You must be goal-oriented like me. :)

  2. Brittany October 1, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Yay! What a great success!

  3. Mandee October 3, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    I didn’t know you had a second blog! I used the C25K app too and it was so handy, I loved it,.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weigh In & Bridge to 10K Success « The Vegan Weight Watcher - February 16, 2012

    […] Monday, just in time to run a 10K on Saturday.  I really liked the program, as much as I did the Couch to 5K plan.  It took me from running a half hour to an hour without stopping, which is something that, in the […]

Leave a Comment

