Weigh In & Bridge to 10K Success

16 Feb

Lots to talk about in this post, so first let me catch up on the end of last week.  I was on track to stay within my points limit, then I decided to treat myself to two small glasses of wine on Valentine’s Day.

Totals for 2/8/12 – 2/14/12

Daily points used:  196/196
Weekly points used:  54/49
Activity points earned:  45
Activity points used:  45
Points left on the table:  -5

Workout Plan Results

Wednesday – no planned exercise, I catered an event which was exercise in an of itself
Thursday – Bridge 2 10K w6d1 (60 minutes running, 10 minutes walking) – done
Friday – 30 minute walk during lunch it was raining, so I went to the gym after work and did 50 minutes on the elliptical
Saturday – Bridge 2 10K w6d2 (60 minutes running, 10 minutes walking) – done
Sunday – rest
Monday – Bridge 2 10K w6d3 (60 minutes running, 10 minutes walking) – done
Tuesday – 45 minutes elliptical my legs were really tired, so I rode the stationary bike instead

So, I didn’t stick to the plan exactly, but I did exercise every day I planned to.

I weighed in Wednesday at 156.1, down .8 pounds from the week before, and only a half pound above my lowest point since joining Weight Watchers.  I feel like I’m back on track for actually losing weight instead of going up and down from week to week, so now I just need to keep going.  With that in mind, here’s my workout plan for this week.

Wednesday – three mile run
Thursday – 45 minutes elliptical
Friday – 30 minute walk during lunch
Saturday – 10K race
Sunday – rest
Monday – hike (aiming for three hours)
Tuesday – Afro-Belly Boogie

Now, for the important part:  I finished the Bridge to 10K program!  I did the last run of the program on Monday, just in time to run a 10K on Saturday.  I really liked the program, as much as I did the Couch to 5K plan.  It took me from running a half hour to an hour without stopping, which is something that, in the past, I never would’ve though I could do.  The runs were not easy.  At all.  Most of them were really hard, and running an hour three times a week takes up a lot of time.

Aside from being able to run for an hour, a big benefit of going for longer runs is that I’ve started to figure out the “long run mentality”, which will help me out when I start half marathon training.  The bottom line is to just keep going.  The first half of my runs are “Dear God, when will I reach halfway”, and the second half is “just keep going until the end”.  If you’re sore or tired, you’re going to continue to be sore or tired whether you stop or not, so you might as well finish the run!

As my last “easy” run before the 10K, I did three miles today.  Running three miles still isn’t easy, per say, but it’s certainly easier than running five.  My time was 35:07 (with a few brief pauses at stop lights), which is a really good pace for me.  Had I gone another tenth of a mile, I would’ve beat my 5K PR by 1:54, which is a great indication of how far I’ve come.

Monday, 2/13/12

breakfast – one slice sesame Ezekiel toast w/ 1 Tbs each almond butter w/ roasted flax and strawberry jam
AM snack – 2 small apples, coffee w/ vanilla soy creamer
lunch – Oyster Mushrooms Rockefeller, spicy roasted cauliflower
PM snack – banana, 6 almonds
dinner – hummus sandwich on a white roll w/ mustard, pickle, lettuce and tomato
snack – 1 1/2 servings multigrain pretzel nuggets

exercise – Bridge 2 10K w3d3 (60 minutes running, 10 minutes walking)

daily points used:  28
activity points earned:  12
activity points used:  4

Tuesday, 2/14/12

breakfast – 1 1/4 cups bran lakes w/ almond milk and 2 Tbs raisins
AM snack – 2 small apples, coffee w/ hazelnut coconut creamer
lunch – Oyster Mushrooms Rockefeller, spicy roasted cauliflower, strawberries
PM snack – 6 oz vanilla almond yogurt
dinner – 3 small slices mushroom & green pepper pizza w/ nutritional yeast and red pepper flakes, salad (romaine, broccoli slaw, 2 Tbs light champagne vinaigrette), 8 oz red wine

exercise – 45 minutes elliptical

daily points used:  28
activity points earned:  3
activity points used:  3
non-existent points used:  5

Wednesday, 2/15/12

breakfast – one slice sesame Ezekiel toast w/ 1 Tbs each almond butter w/ roasted flax and strawberry jam
AM snack – 2 small apples, coffee w/ hazelnut coconut creamer
lunch – 3 small slices mushroom & green pepper pizza w/ nutritional yeast and red pepper flakes, salad (romaine, broccoli slaw, fat free balsamic vinaigrette)
PM snack – 3/4 oz almonds
dinner – Poached Tofu & Bok Choy over Glass Noodles, green curry roasted broccoli & carrots

daily points used:  27

Poached Tofu & Bok Choy over Glass Noodles, adapted from The Dairy-Free and Gluten-Free Kitchen

green curry roasted vegetables

Thursday, 2/16/12

breakfast – 2 flax plus waffles w/ 2 tsp agave nectar
AM snack – 2 small apples, coffee w/ hazelnut coconut creamer
lunch – Poached Tofu & Bok Choy over Glass Noodles, green curry roasted broccoli & carrots
PM snack – banana, 8 walnuts
dinner – 3 small slices mushroom & green pepper pizza w/ nutritional yeast and red pepper flakes, salad (romaine, broccoli slaw, bacon flavored chips, light champagne vinaigrette)
dessert – 1/3 dark chocolate bar with caramel

exercise – ran 3 miles (35 minutes)

daily points used:  28
weekly points used:  5
activity points earned:  7

2 Responses to “Weigh In & Bridge to 10K Success”

  1. J February 17, 2012 at 3:36 am #

    Wtg Erin! Proud of your dedication to running. Half the secret to WW is just not gaining or figuring out how to maintain while youre not losing. Sometimes getting through a rut is then followed by some good losses for no apparent reason.

    I am 9 lbs from my pre-preg weight just a week after birth and am looking forward to being able to exercise again soon. I had gained 28 lbs by the time I delivered. I’m not dieting but I am eating as healthy as possible and trying not to waste my extra breast feeding calories on junk.

  2. tofubelly February 17, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    Love your blog! I’m vegan and have a fitness-related blog, too (: Happy I stumbled upon yours — and congrats on your weight loss so far!

Leave a Comment

