Catching Up – Half Marathon Training Weeks 1-4

24 May

I cannot believe I went almost a month without posting!  It’s like a downward spiral…the longer I go without posting, the longer I know it’ll take me to post, and then I put off posting longer, and…you know.  I want to get back to what I intended this blog to be, writing shorter posts every day or two.

On May 2nd, I weighed in at 149 pounds, and I was super-duper stoked.  It was the first time I was in the 140’s in a very long time.  But then the next three weigh ins went 150.6 – 151.4 – 152.6.  Obviously I’m going in the wrong direction!  I know why:  I’ve been too lax with my diet.  My birthday was May 15th, so I took it a little easy that week, and didn’t track that Saturday when we went to the LA Vegan Beer & Food Festival (which was awesome, by the way).  My plan was to get right back on track the next week, and what I learned is that it’s not so easy to get right back into good habits after going off the rails a little.  I’ve been re-focusing the past few days and think I’m in a good head space again.  My goal this week is to leave half of the activity points I earn un-used, to get the scale moving the right way again.

What has been going pretty well is my half marathon training.  I’m now in week five, and the race is just over seven weeks away!

half marathon training week one
Monday – 1 hour walking
Tuesday – ran 2 miles, walked 45 minutes
Wednesday – ran 3 miles
Thursday – 38 minutes yoga
Friday – ran 2 miles
Saturday- rest
Sunday – ran 4 miles

Mileage total for the week – 11

This week went pretty much as planned.  I was having a lot of hip pain about one mile into every run, so I focused on stabilizing my left foot to see if that would help.  I found that by doing that I was really tightening my glutes, so some of the discomfort moved to my glutes rather than the hip.  Regardless, I think it did help to focus on my stride, since my left foot has always been less stable than my right.

half marathon training week two
Monday – 45 minutes kickboxing
Tuesday – ran 2 miles
Wednesday – ran 3 miles
Thursday –BodyPump (60 minutes weight lifting)
Friday – ran 3 miles
Saturday- rest
Sunday – ran 5 miles

Mileage total for the week – 13

This week was fairly uneventful too.  I was tired and sore most days but powered through, and continued to focus on stabilizing my left foot while running.  Just over a mile into the long run on Sunday I felt some pain in a place I never have, the lower portion of my left calf.  I stopped twice to stretch it and felt better, and now I incorporate a lower calf stretch into my regular post-run stretching routine.

half marathon training week three
Monday – 50 minutes kickboxing
Tuesday – ran 2 miles, walked 30 minutes
Wednesday – rest
Thursday –rest
Friday – rest
Saturday- rest
Sunday – rest

Mileage total for the week – 2

I got waaaay sidetracked this week, which was the same week I did poorly with my diet.  Wednesday I had some errands to run after work, and was too tired and hungry by the time I was done.  Thursday we went to a baseball game after work.  Friday, I was just too tired, and we were packing to go out of town.  Saturday we drove down to LA, and Sunday we drove back.  So, I missed FOUR workouts.  I did really well with the scheduled rest day though!

While we were in LA, we went to a preppy-themed boat party for Dave’s sister’s birthday.  While this outfit isn’t something I would usually put together, I thought it was pretty cute.

half marathon training week four
Monday – ran 6 miles (make-up for the missed run from the day before)
Tuesday – ran 2 miles
Wednesday – rest
Thursday –rest
Friday – ran 3 miles
Saturday- rest
Sunday – ran 4 miles

Mileage total for the week – 15

This week was better, but still not perfect.  I made up for the missed long run after work on Monday.  Tuesday was my birthday, so I took the day off and did my two miles in the morning.  I was really sore from the six miler still, so that may not have been the best idea, but I wanted to get all the miles in.  I had an upset stomach that night that was still with me the next day, so I worked fro home and skipped my scheduled run.  I went back to work Thursday, but was still a little weak.  By Friday I was back to business, and my “long” run on Sunday was only four miles because it was supposed to be a cut back week.  I wore my iFitness race belt for the first time to test it out, which went pretty well.  It did ride up a bit, but I didn’t feel it bounce at all, and it was nice to have the water with me on a hot day.  Maybe I’ll write a longer review once I’ve worn it a few more times.

Wednesday, 5/23/12

breakfast – smoothie (banana, pineapple, plant fusion protein powder, almond milk)
AM snack – strawberries, 12 almonds, coffee with soy creamer
lunch – chickpea flour cake with peppery tempeh-mushroom filling, stir fry with black bean garlic sauce (cabbage, carrot, celery, bell pepper, kelp noodles)
PM snack – spicy lentil salad over baby chard & bok choy
dinner – 5 pcs mushroom roll, 5 pcs avocado roll, large sushi roll with fried tofu, carrot, inari & seaweed salad

exercise – ran 3 miles (36 minutes), walked 10 minutes

daily points used:  28
activity points earned:  7
activity points used:  10

Chinese-ish meal with tons of veggies

Thursday, 5/24/12

breakfast – carrot cake Larabar, banana
AM snack – apple, pear, coffee with soy creamer
lunch – fajita salad (lettuce, zucchini, corn, black beans, onion, chipotle salsa, avocado, Daiya Jack)
PM snack – spicy lentil salad over romaine lettuce
PM snack 2 – chocolate sacha inchi blueberry energy bar
dinner – smoothie (pineapple, banana, carrot, orange juice, plant fusion protein powder, coconut butter, chlorella, rolled oats, blackstrap molasses, maca powder), 6 oz red wine

exercise – BodyPump (60 minutes weight lifting), 15 minutes elliptical

daily points used:  28
activity points earned:  5
activity points used:  2
weekly points used:  8

Black bean-zucchini-corn fajita salad. I really like the new Daiya Jack-style wedge!

Leave a Comment

