Half Marathon Training Week 12

23 Jul

I finished my first half marathon!  I’ll write a full race report soon, but for now I wanted to do a quick post about the last week of training, since it seems weird to just skip over it.

What was supposed to happen
Monday – 45 minutes elliptical
Tuesday – 2 miles
Wednesday – 3 miles
Thursday – rest
Friday – 1-2 miles
Saturday – rest

What really happened
Monday – rest
Tuesday – 2 miles
Wednesday – rest
Thursday – 3 miles
Friday – rest
Saturday – rest

So yeah, the week didn’t go as planned exercise-wise.  I think it had a lot to do with lady hormones.  Monday I was starving and exhausted when we got home from work, and not in a way that could be fixed with a snack or quick nap, or even both.  I made dinner right away and even had a bowl of cereal before bed too, and that was after already having an extra snack that day.  Stupid hormones!  At least I made good food choices.

Tuesday I planned ahead and took extra healthy snacks to work, and felt well enough to knock out two miles on the treadmill.  Wednesday, the hunger and tiredness monster struck again, and rather than go for the scheduled run, I picked up sushi and stayed in.  I wasn’t happy that my week was becoming discombobulated, but sometimes you just have to listen to your body, and this was definitely one of those times.

By Thursday I was feeling back to normal, and got three miles in, which was good for my confidence.  I meant to take it particularly easy but ended with an 11:26 average pace, which is pretty good for me.  I guess I was excited to be out there!

I also tried to hone in on my eating, hydrating and rest that week.  I upped my carb intake a little early on, without upping my caloric intake much.  As luck would have it, all three of my coworkers were sick at some point, so I made sure to avoid contact and washed my hands a lot, and drank a few Emergen-C’s just in case.  I read up a little on how to properly carbo-load, and the impression I got was that it was more important to up your carb intake the few days before racing, rather than having one giant carb-tastic meal the night before.  So, Thursday and Friday I had one and a half servings of overnight oats with berries for breakfast, which had more carbs than my usual breakfast smoothie, and Saturday morning I made the largest green smoothie known to mankind.  It took up two and a half pint glasses, and I enjoyed the whole thing!

I took carbo-loading as an excuse to eat pasta, which I don’t have too often, even though it was whole wheat pasta.

This is the Fusilli Roasted Vegetable Primavera from Appetite for Reduction.  It was really delicious and super easy to make.  I added chickpeas and some mushrooms that were laying around the fridge, which I would now consider necessary if I made it again.  I would also consider the optional fresh basil and red pepper flakes (my addition) non-optional.  I also had veggie pasta for dinner the night before and night after the race, so yay pasta!

Race recap to come very soon, and then I have an exciting announcement about my next big endeavor!

2 Responses to “Half Marathon Training Week 12”

  1. Kelly July 25, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    Congrats on finishing your 1st “half mary”! I can’t wait to hear about it :)

  2. Retta July 26, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Congrats, so exciting! I just found your blog. I’m on the exact same path as you. I’m a vegan who started training for a half marathon and I just joined weight watchers so I’m reading back through all of your posts. :)

Leave a Comment

